Applicants sought for Kiva Editor for Volumes 91-93. For details go to the Kiva page under the Publications Menu

back All Awards

Alexander J. Lindsay Jr. Unsung Hero Award

Established in 2017, the Alexander J. Lindsay Unsung Hero Award honors the late Lex Lindsay, a long-time southwestern archaeologist, AAHS supporter and AAHS Board Officer. Although Lex was definitely not an unsung hero, he recognized the importance of individuals whose work has often gone unacknowledged. This award is given for tireless work behind the scenes that is critical to the success of others’ archaeological, anthropological, or historical research projects or publications.

Alexander J. Lindsay, Jr.

Recipients of the Alexander J. Lindsay Jr. Unsung Hero Award

2017 –  Barbara Breternitz and Cherie Freeman
2018 – Jamie Merewether and Marilyn Markel
2019 – Timothy B. Graves and Lonnie C. Ludeman
2020 – Helen L. O’Brien and Deborah V. Gibson
2021 – Karen Armstrong and John R. Stein
2022 – Monica Young and Mary Graham
2023 – Emilee Mead and Elaine Hughes